Wijk aan Zee 2015: Magnus Carlsen to Take Part; No Players From Russia?

Время публикации: 23.10.2014 19:47 | Последнее обновление: 25.10.2014 04:45

The line-up for the main tournament has been announced

A press conference has been held by the organizers of Wijk aan Zee festival today, on October 23rd, in one of Tata Steel offices located in Velsen-Noord, The Netherlands. Due to sponsorship by Tata Steel, the festival has been officially named Tata Steel Chess since 2011; however, most of chess fans all over the world probably know it better by the name of the hosting Dutch town - Wijk aan Zee. As we have already informed you, the 77th edition of the most famous chess festival in the world will be held from January 9th to January 25th, 2015. The line-up for the main tournament-2015 announced during today's press conference is:

Magnus CARLSEN (Norway)
Fabiano CARUANA (Italy)
Levon ARONIAN (Armenia)
Anish GIRI (The Netherlands)
Wesley SO (USA)
Ding LIREN (China)
Vassily IVANCHUK (Ukraine)
Teimour RADJABOV (Azerbaijan)
Ivan SARIC (Croatia)
Hou YIFAN (China)
Loek VAN WELY (The Netherlands).

Two names are still to be added into the list, thus there will be 14 participants in total. The tournament will be the first one for Magnus Carlsen after his World Championship match in the Russian city of Sochi in November 2014.

As the reader might also note, there are no Russian players in the list - for the first time since 2006. Lately, Russia was usually represented in the main tournament by Sergey Karjakin, who has moved to Russia in 2010 (a year before he had won the A-tournament as the Ukrainian).

The line-up for the B-group will be announced later, in November. Only two participants are known for the moment, namely Robin van Kampen (The Netherlands) and Anne Haast (current Dutch women's champion).

As in this year, two of the rounds will take place in the other Dutch cities (January 15th - Rotterdam, January 21st - The Hague).


Смотрите также...