"Ian, Hang In There, Buddy!" Jobava Thinks Nepomniachtchi Should Be In 1/8 Final

Время публикации: 20.09.2015 23:49 | Последнее обновление: 21.09.2015 01:31

"Hard to keep myself [silent], so I decided to say a few words," - Georgian GM Baadur Jobava decided to make a comment on his Facebook page regarding the incident in Nepomniachtchi - Nakamura tiebreak encounter and the decision the Appeal Committee has made.

"First, of course Ian should be in the next round, no question about that (the only mistake he made is that he didn't stop the clock and didn't protest at that moment). Second, Nakamura is a dirty player trying to use every chance to win the battle (he forgets that this isn't a real war and first of all chess was, and I hope still is, a gentlemen's game. Unfortunately many players forget this...). The Appeal committee is an absolutely impotent organ, I didn't expect from them anything but ironic fucking bullshit words. I don't even understand, what are they paid such a big money for?!

Ian, hang in there, buddy. You got into an unfair cycle. I believe fortune will compensate this for you in full!"

(GM Jobava's original post has been edited by Chess-News).



An impressive piece of mind.

An impressive piece of mind. This all would sound even more convincing if GM Jobava were himself a specimen of immaculate behaviour in chess.
As to me, the fuss has been a bit overinflated. All the three sides (Nepo, Naka, the arbiters) made mistakes in that situation, but the key issue is the strange rule itself. Why not to think of abolishing it, permitting to use two hands while castling? Isn't it very natural if two pieces have to be moved at once?

Not many have supported Nepo

Not many have supported Nepo to the extent of disturbing the match result, but Shaun Press, a former member of the FIDE Rules Commission that instituted the July 2014 changes, argued on his chessexpress blog that "Once it is established that the officials failed to do their job correctly, then the Appeals Committee should have at least ordered the game to be replayed (IMO)." See http://tinyurl.com/nzg5tjr

There is a comment by Kevin Bonham (Australia's FIDE delegate) which expresses my personal sentiment rather well, that this sort of precedent would lead to players trying to take a double-shot, either win on the board or get a replay on appeal.

Смотрите также...