Bunratty Chess Festival is Headed by Michael Adams and Nigel Short

Время публикации: 18.02.2012 01:03 | Последнее обновление: 18.02.2012 01:04

The traditional weekend open in Bunratty, Ireland which takes place from Friday to Sunday, gathered 11 Grandmasters: Michael Adams, Nigel Short, Andrei Istratescu, Gawain Jones, Mark Hebden, Peter Wells, Luis Galego, Alex Baburin, Simon Williams, Nick Pert and Keith Arkel. There will be one round on Friday, three on Saturday and two others on Sunday - overall six rounds. The Bunratty Chess Festival was won by Peter Svidler in 2008 and 2009, last year's festival was dominated by Gawain Jones.The list of the winners can be found here. 



Смотрите также...

  • The traditional Gibraltar 2014 will be held from January 27th to February 6th. The list of players who already confirmed their participation is published on the official website of the event:
    Michael Adams
    Gata Kamsky
    Vassily Ivanchuk
    Maxime Vachier-Lagrave
    Nikita Vitiugov
    Sergei Movsesian
    Li Chao
    Nigel Short...

  • London Chess Classic has a new - 4th participant. Gawain Jones, the winner of the 99th British Championship, enters the competition. Vishy Anand, Magnus Carlsen and Levon Aroian, Vladimir Kramnik, Michael Adams and Judit Polgar have already confirmed their participation. 

    The official website of the festival published the schedule of all the tournaments. The main competition will be held from December 1st to 10th. 

  • Finally the list of participants of the fourth London Chess Classic Supertournament is now open to public. One round robin tournament will take place in December (1-10) between Magnus Carlsen, Vishvanatan Anand, Levon Aronian, Vladimir Kramnik, Judit Polgar, Michael Adams, Luke J McShane, Gawain Jones and Hikaru Nakamura. The current US champion joined the other players last.

  • The traditional festival in Hoogeveen will be held from October 18th to 26th. Except open tournament the Dutch city will host a double round-robin competition with four grandmasters: Michael Adams, Wesley So. Loek van Wely and Robin van Kampen. Last editions of the tournament gathered GMs from the "elite" group and two strongest women chess players of today.


  • The drawing for London Chess Classic, which is a rapid competition this year, has been done. 16 participants are divide into 4 groups, two from each will qualify in a round-robin, then eight players will continue fight in knock-out. Time control is 25+10.

    The drawing:

  • The English national league, the 4NCL ("Four Nations Chess League", the four nations being England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland!) plays its final round this Bank Holiday weekend. The defending champions Guildford are again favourites, and are likely to turn out a super-strong team, which could include the likes of Short, Sadler, Jones, Vachier-Lagrave, Edouard, and others.

  • The pairings for the round-robin London Chess Classic which starts from Saturday 3rd December had been announced. The players drew following numbers: 1. Nigel Short 2. Vladimir Kramnik 3. Levon Aronian 4. Magnus Carlsen 5. Michael Adams 6. Viswanathan Anand 7. David Howel l8. Luke McShane 9. Hikaru Nakamura.

  • After winning the first playoff game against the world champion Hou Yifan, Short managed to control situation in the second game and agreed to the repetition in an objectively won position.1.5-0.5 in Nigel Short's favor, which makes him the winner of the Gibraltar Chess Festival. 

  • The traditional festival 'Baku Open', which was held in recent years in August on the seaside of the Caspian Sea, will be held from 21 September until 1 October this year. The meeting place hasn't changed: AF Hotel on the same seaside of the same sea. 

  • Malcolm Pein, the tournament director of the London Chess Classic festival, has announced five participants of the main tournament for 2014 in his Twitter, namely:

    Fabiano CARUANA
    Viswanathan ANAND
    Hikaru NAKAMURA

    Vladimir KRAMNIK
    Michael ADAMS.